Recite

Recite – (rɪˈsʌɪt)

Meaning: repeat aloud or declaim from memory before an audience.


He recited our vows before our families and friends.

He practiced days upon days before our wedding.

Of course at the time, it seemed like a declaration of love.

It seemed like promises to be fulfilled, words to be kept.

He looked me in my eyes, in the presence of our maker and he droned out the words he had committed to memory.

So baby boy,

I’ve seen it all.

Tell me more lies.

I’ve heard worse.

There’s no need to commit words to memory.

We won’t last that long.

This is my recital.

And the world is my audience.


After he was done,

After he asked me to clean up and get out.

After I went by the hospital for tests.

After I became a shell of myself.

After every quick move by someone else scared me out of my wits.

After I couldn’t walk alone at evening or in lonely places.

I’m fine. Better days ahead.

I’m fine. The sun will shine again.

I’m fine. This isn’t the end.

I’m fine. There’s no rainbow without the rain.

I’m fine. Tomorrow is a gift.

This is my recital.

The girls who fear they are damaged are my audience.


Continuously looked down on.

Continuously put down.

Continuously overlooked.

Continuously underrated.

Continuously wronged.

Continuously the bearer of hate, racism, bigotry and sexism.

I am tired.

You don’t get to talk to me like that.

You don’t get to treat me different because of my skin color.

You don’t get to shove your hate in my face.

You will respect me.

You will respect what I stand for.

This is my recital.

And colored girls are my audience.

One thought on “Recite

Leave a comment